top of page

I'm always on the lookout for new horror.

 

Something you'd like to hear my thoughts on?

Horror Artist of the Month

Click on image to go to the creator's page.

Nothing Here yet..png
  • Writer's pictureLittle Miss Creeps

Movie Review: Blood Fest **SPOILERS**

Hello fellow spooks and creeps!



Everyone loves to go to scary amusement parks, such as Busch Gardens: Hal-o-scream, Universal Studios: Halloween Horror Nights, and Six Flags: Fright Fest. We do it because we know it isn’t real, but what would happen if it was? If every creature and psycho was truly out to kill us? That is the idea that Blood Fest plays with. Blood Fest, released in August 2018, is about 3 friends, Dax (Robbie Kay), Sam (Seychelle Gabriel), and Krill (Jacob Batalon), who go to a horror movie themed amusement park, but there’s a catch, everything is real. This movie is great for horror fans because not only does it touch on all genres, but it also references a lot of popular movies, Sinister, Night of the Living Dead, and Saw. It was a more meta experience than watching Detention or Scream, which left me cheering as each scene unfolded and showed the different references, I had to watch the movie twice just to make sure I wasn’t watching it through blood-tinted glasses. When I first saw the trailer, I was so excited I couldn’t see straight, so when I finally watched it I had such high hopes, and luckily, they were not crushed. There was never a dull moment and it was so much fun to watch.


"The clowns, I found on Craigslist." - Anthony Walsh (Owen Egerton)

Clowns, Blood Fest



“Fans flock to a festival celebrating the most iconic horror movies, only to discover that the charismatic showman behind the event has a diabolical agenda. As festival attendees start dying off, three teenagers [Dax, Sam, and Krill] - more schooled in horror-film clichés than practical knowledge about neutralizing psycho killers - must band together and battle through various madmen and monstrosities to survive,” Imdb.

I have to say, that is the best way to sum up the movie. My favorite scene from the movie was probably when they ended up in Clown Town and Ashley asks about the rules and Krill’s reply is, “There's no rules with clowns! They'll cut your throat, make a balloon animal, and shit in your mouth. They don't care! I fucking hate them!” Honestly, that line is so great because it is so true. When you see a clown it’s not like seeing other monsters in horror movies. There isn’t one set trope, one set of rules to survive, no set way to kill them, though I’m sure cutting off the heads of most creatures would do the trick.


“There's no rules with clowns! They'll cut your throat, make a balloon animal, and shit in your mouth. They don't care! I fucking hate them!” - Krill (Jacob Batalon)

My least favorite scene was when the group ran into Zachary Levi, not because of him, I love Zachary, it was because it was a scene I had to spend behind my hands, due to my hate of embarrassing humor. As Zachary is trying to explain what happened to him and his friends, Ashley is constantly bringing up how he played Flynn Ryder and how much she loves that character. I can see how the scene was supposed to be funny, I just couldn’t take it. The dumb blonde was being way too dumb. Sadly, that is the only time we get to see him as he dies right after. The entire movie built up to this huge twist that sadly I figured out about 10 minutes before it was revealed. However, it feels as though they weren’t trying to hide it since, midway through a scene they cut to Dax’s father who is doing an interview about the “dangers” of horror movies, and how it makes people violent. Of course, the twist was that Dax’s father was behind the whole thing, it was the only reason for them to cut to that scene. However, that minor problem wasn’t a problem to me at all, the movie was still bloody good fun and the ending was epic. As Dax made his way to the tower to take out his father and the showman for what they had done.


"…there was a girl that I loved... actually, she was the love of my life... and I didn't have a chance to tell her, because we were trying to run to the school. Right before we got in the door, they grabbed her. And they started to tear her apart." - Zachary Levi
"My hair is magical... Well, sometimes magical." - Ashley (Barbara Dunkleman)

The acting in the movie was spot on especially the main three characters. Robbie did amazing as this kid who isn’t scared of a thing except for his father, Seychelle was an outstanding badass, and Jacob played the clueless virgin so well. Robbie Kay was my absolute favorite actor in the whole thing, especially since his character had such drastic character development, and he was able to convey that so well. As for the park itself, I

would love to go to an actual park like that, you know, without the risk of dying of course. The park was made up of sections such as, Clowntown, Vamp Camp, Tortureville, Living Dead Land, and Asylum, just to name a few. My favorite that was got to see was Living Dead Land, mostly because I loved how they did the zombies. However, all the ones we got to see were pretty cool. I only wish we had gotten to see all of them. Especially since the only one we got a decent wide view look at was Living Dead Land.


"…we have a problem. Horror is dead. I mean, look around you! Our vampires glitter! Our zombies have become soap opera stars! Our slashers have grown dull and old. We put Freddy on a lunchbox! We put Lovecraft in a coloring book! We have over consumed and overproduced, and we have taken what was forbidden, what was dangerous, and we have made it common." - Anthony Walsh (Owen Egerton)

Overall, if you are a horror fan you will most likely love this movie just as much as I did. It was just so much fun to watch, especially if you watch it other horror fans, which I did. I spent the entire time going, “Oh I get that!” and “YES!”. No, this movie isn’t scary in the slightest, but not all horror is scary. It is just so amusing! Thank you so much for reading! And remember…


STAY CREEPY!




94 views0 comments

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

© 2020 by Little Miss Creeps Horror Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page