top of page

I'm always on the lookout for new horror.

 

Something you'd like to hear my thoughts on?

Horror Artist of the Month

Click on image to go to the creator's page.

Nothing Here yet..png
  • Writer's pictureLittle Miss Creeps

Movie Review: Hell House LLC II: The Abaddon Hotel (2018) **SPOILERS**

Updated: Feb 1, 2020

Hello fellow spooks and creeps!


In my personal opinion, not all movies need a sequel; this is one of them. Hell House LLC II is a brand new movie that came out September 20th 2018 as a Shudder exclusive. It is basically the same plot as the first one, except this time the people doing the documentary are skeptics. It vaguely started to remind me of Grave Encounters 2 at certain points, no that is not a movie I am a fan of. Although the first one is amazing. Anyway, I went into this movie not expecting anything good. I figured it would be boring or cheesy, well luckily it was only one of those.

"It's been eight years since the opening night tragedy of Hell House, LLC and still many unanswered questions remain. Thanks to an anonymous tip, investigative journalist Jessica Fox is convinced that key evidence is hidden inside the abandoned Abaddon Hotel-evidence that will shed light on the hotel's mysteries. She assembles a team equally hungry for answers with one goal: break into the hotel and discover the truth." - IMDB

The movie is definitely not boring, it's just dull. As mentioned earlier it is just the first

movie with new characters. It tried to make this big reveal that I saw from a mile away. My favorite scene from the movie is when Mitchell gets knocked out then wakes up elsewhere. As he's walking with a camera he sees Melissa sitting on the floor in the hall on the phone with her mom saying that she thinks Alex is trying to hide something. I'm pretty sure she is a scarer for Hell House from the first movie. As Mitchell is walking by trying to ignore her she says, "No mom I told you I'm dead already and Mitchell's coming with us." As she is saying this her voice becomes deeper and demonic. Mitchell turns around and she is standing there looking demonic. It was a generally creepy moment and that line is probably my favorite from the movie.

"No mom I told you I'm dead already and Mitchell is coming with us." -Melissa (Lauren A. Kennedy)

The movie reminded me so much of Grave Encounters 2 at one point because we see this hell hole open up on the wall and it looks so cheesy. You can tell it was CGI in the worse way possible. We spend the entire movie going between 4 things; a TV broadcast that has Mitchell (the lone survivor of the people making the documentary from the last movie), Arnold Tasselman (the head of the town), and Brock Davies (a psychic), the footage that Jessica Fox, Molly, David, and Mitchell catch, "Editors Notes", and a police interrogation of Jessica who has been missing for 5 days. Due to the movie only just coming out I will talk about the twist at the end so that you can skip it.


Overall it was a mediocre film. There isn't much that sticks to my mind about it. The acting wasn't great, it wasn't bad either though. The location was the same. There was one cool use of special effects makeup, but you only really see it for a second. I kind of wish it had been better, but it was a sequel to a not-so-great film.


**HUGE SPOILER**

As I said I would talk about the big twist at the end. As it turns out the person at the interview that we kept flashing back too wasn't the head of the town like he said. He was the original owner of the hotel, and he has been manipulating everyone to get them there so his cult could kill them. As I said I already knew that was the case, it wasn't this huge surprise, but I'm also not easily surprised.

**SPOILER OVER**


Thank you so much for reading and remember...


STAY CREEPY!

1,397 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

© 2020 by Little Miss Creeps Horror Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page